skip navigation
Genesee Athletics

Six to be Inducted into NJCAA Lacrosse Hall of Fame

From Top to Bottom: Chuck Wilbur, Vaughn Harris, Dan Garrett, Tyson Bell, Rob Randall, and Peet Poillon will be inducted into NJCAA Lacrosse Hall of Fame on Friday, May 17
From Top to Bottom: Chuck Wilbur, Vaughn Harris, Dan Garrett, Tyson Bell, Rob Randall, and Peet Poillon will be inducted into NJCAA Lacrosse Hall of Fame on Friday, May 17

BATAVIA, NY… Six individuals that have been household names in the game of lacrosse will forever be known as Hall of Famers as the newest inductees in to the NJCAA Lacrosse Hall of Fame. Chuck Wilbur, Rob Randall, Tyson Bell, Vaughn Harris, Dan Garrett, and Peet Poillon will be inducted on Friday, May 17 at 6pm as part of the NJCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championships, hosted at Genesee Community College.

After being hired in 2002 at Onondaga Community College, Chuck Wilbur helped guide the Lazers to their first Region 3 championship in 2005. A season later, the Lazers won their first NJCAA National Championship. Since 2006, Onondaga has won 11 NJCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championships. His time at Onondaga has seen him send 25 players to the pros; 61 transfers to NCAA Division I programs, 96 to Division II, and 101 players to Division III; and those that have transferred have won a combined 34 NCAA National Championships. Wilbur has been named National Coach of the Year six times.  Wilbur played collegiately at Hobart College and Herkimer College, where he was NJCAA National Player of the Year.

Just completing his 19th season as the head coach of the Nazareth Golden Flyers, Rob Randall has a determined focus and attention to detail that has enabled him to carry the tradition of winning and hard work at the collegiate level. His achievements are numerous and include 220 career victories, 10 NCAA Tournament appearances, nine Empire 8 Conference titles, and seven Empire 8 Coach of the Year honors. A native of Rochester, Randall also served as head coach at SUNY Geneseo, Sacred Heart University, and an assistant coach at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. His playing days saw Randall at Nazareth College and at Herkimer College. Randall serves as chair of the NCAA Rules Committee and is a member of the USILA Hall of Fame.

Tyson Bell had a successful career both in college and professionally. The St. Catharines, Ontario native won back-to-back National Championships at Onondaga Community College. Bell currently plays in the National Lacrosse League for the Calgary Roughnecks and won the Silver Medal in the 2018 World Field Lacrosse Championships playing for Team Canada.

Like Bell, Vaughn Harris won back-to-back NJCAA National Championships with Onondaga Community College. When Harris was wearing the Onondaga jersey, he never lost a game, going 33-0 in his two years (2013-2014). Vaughn was drafted by the Calgary Roughnecks in the 2016 NLL draft. His professional career has also found Harris play in Buffalo, and currently Philadelphia. Harris is also a member of the Iroquois Nation World team for both field and indoor (box) lacrosse.

After spending two years at Herkimer College, Dan Garrett moved on Nazareth College where he won two NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse National Championships. His career at Nazareth has earned Garrett a place in the Nazareth Sports Hall of Fame in 2011. After his collegiate career, Garrett was drafted by the NLL’s Rochester Knighthawks. Currently, Garrett is a founding co-founder of the Rush Henrietta Girls Lacrosse Club.

Peet Poillon played at the collegiate level at Howard Community College, Ohio State University, and UMBC. An All-American at UMBC, he was also a Scholar All-American. Poillon played professionally for the Chesapeake Bayhawks of the Major Lacrosse League, where he was a four time MLL All-Star. Currently, Poillon serves as the Assistant Coach at Hobart College.

For the complete schedule and all the up to date news and information about the 2019 NJCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship, log online to The final four teams are set as Nassau Community College, Harford Community College, Onondaga Community College and Howard Community College will play for the 2019 NJCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship on Saturday, May 18 at 1pm and 4pm, with the Championship game on Sunday, May 19 at 4:00pm.

For more information, log online to, follow us on social media by using #cougarPRIDE, and check out our new Athletics video.